UCSB 93106 Public Affairs Back Issues Contact


Unsung Heroine Award

The Professional Women’s Association (PWA) is seeking nominations for its 2009 Unsung Heroine Awards.
The awards are open to any faculty or staff member who has been employed by UCSB for at least two years. Membership in PWA is not required.
Recipients will be honored at PWA’s annual conference on May 20.
The deadline for submitting nominations is Friday, April 24. Nomination packets should be emailed to Sandy Camp and Kori Stoltz, PWA Recognition & Awards co-chairs, at awards@pwa.ucsb.edu or delivered to MC 7170 or the EOP Office.
For more information, visit <www.pwa.ucsb.edu/honorees.php>.


Catherine Gautier, professor of geography, has received the Atmospheric Science Librarians International Choice – Honorable Mention for her book, “Facing Climate Change Together” (Cambridge University Press, 2008).

Craig Hawker, professor of materials, has received a 2009 Special Grant in Chemical Sciences from the Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation. The award will support his research project, “Materials Research Facilities: A National Research and Education Resource for the STEM Disciplines.“

Betty Huff, assistant vice chancellor for enrollment services and management, has been named president-elect of the American Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers.


Alan Liu, professor and chair of English, has published “Local Transcendence: Essays on Postmodern Historicism and the Database” (The University of Chicago Press, 2008).


Stephen O’Brien is the new Associate Athletics Director/Director of Development. He comes to UCSB from Santa Clara University, where he served as the director of development for the Bronco Bench Foundation, the student-athlete scholarship fund-raising arm of Santa Clara athletics.


Martin A. Silver died on February 17. He joined the UCSB staff as a librarian in 1967 and retired in 1992. He also was an occasional lecturer in the music department.

Jason Von Straussenburg died on January 29. He joined the UCSB staff in 1994 as a development technician in biological sciences and retired in 2008.